The No.1 i-Technology Magazine in the World !
   
 

      ES no BS
This is a personal blog of Yakov Fain       My son's animations and music         No BS IT podcast      Америчка




Archives

««Aug 2010»»
SMTWTFS
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031

RSS Feed








Subscribe to these blogs

Stolen Web Content

posted Saturday, 18 February 2006
Over the years I wrote and published a bunch of free online lessons on Java programming . Most of them were republished  with my permission by Java Developers Journal. Many  of these lessons were videotaped by Sys-Con Media  and are available for free  at Sys-Con TV .

Yesterday someone sent me  a link to the site ,  which basically used all my lessons without any permissions or references. A simple search at whois.org  shows that this domain is registered in Bangalore, India.

Since I was not selling these lessons, I'm not losing any money, but I'm wondering if there are  any international laws that are applicable in such cases? On the other hand, it would be cheaper to purchase this site than take the owner  to court, if any. The last line on the stolen page states: Note: To BUY this domain  ( javaprogrammingworld.com ) with entire content, email hemanth.balaji@gmail.com . The Approximate Price: Rs. 5000, which is  about $120 USD.

I wonder if I can negotiate some discount as the author of the most of the content? :)) Someone compared this with taking a hostage and asking for a ransom.

The only problem is that even if I buy this entire site, it’ll appear again next day under a different name. I wonder if this is a common practice in India, and if there is there a practical  way to make Mr. Hemanth Balaji remove the stolen content?

tags:    

links: digg this    del.icio.us    technorati    




1. Kris left...
Saturday, 18 February 2006 2:30 pm

There are always sleaze bags like this. I think the guy is trying to make money off the domain name and needs some content for it and what better way than to steal content already existing elsewhere! You should probably post a link to this article on one of the Indic Threads just so this guy is exposed!


2. kuldeep left...
Monday, 20 February 2006 12:02 am

Hi ,

  • Its really shameful ..and guys like these only make wrong impression of a country.

    • What i can suggest is just drop a mail to Nassom..their site is http://www.nasscom.org/ and if u need any help regarding this ..i mean u want to know about how Indian sysytem works...i ll be more than glad to help u out.


3. Hemanth left...
Thursday, 23 February 2006 10:31 pm

I am going to remove all the content of smartdataprocessing. Actually I was not copying your content. Since you were providing your content free I thought i can have one more site with the same content.I was just helping my school friends. I am really Sorry Sir. I shall remove it.


4. Yakov Fain left...
Thursday, 23 February 2006 10:45 pm

Hemanth,

Yes, I am providing this content for free for the same reason: I'm just helping your (and many others) school friends. I do not have problems with people providing links to my site, but you just copied my materials to your site without even mentioning my name. It's a special way to help your friends...


5. Hemanth left...
Friday, 24 February 2006 2:15 pm

Yes I agree to that Mr. Yakov. I am deeply sorry. And first place thank you for the time to reply to my feedback.


6. shrikantha left...
Tuesday, 28 February 2006 11:06 am

Yakov,

You have three solutions as of now and follow all the three. You may get respite in one.

********************************

First solution You can lodge a complaint by sending mail to cyber police in Bangalore.

Cyber Crime Police Station C.O.D Headquarters, Carlton House, # 1, Palace Road, Bangalore - 560 001

Tel.Nos. +91- 80-2201026 +91- 80-2943050 (These phone numbers appear to be old )

Fax +91- 080- 2387611 e-mail : ccps@kar.nic.in ********************************** Second solution: You can also lodge a complaint with Nasscom. It is an association of software companies which try to educate scumbags like Hemant. That is even better. Give some hint that you wanted to do business with India, but are now worried because of this hemant guy stealing your content.

Nasscom email for reporting compliance related to international laws is trusted_sourcing@nasscom.in You can also cc a copy of your complaint to president@nasscom.in.

*********************************** Third Solution

You can also ask some of your Indian friends who are working with Indian vendors to support you. These companies maintain a blacklist. As I see this hemanth guy is also into HR consultancy. You can ask your indian friends if their company can blacklist hemanth and his junk site.


7. Yakov Fain left...
Tuesday, 28 February 2006 2:50 pm

"Deeply sorry" Hemanth has removed my content from his Web site...and sold the site with someone else's content to another person. Below is the letter I've received from the buyer.

Hello Yakov,

I'm the unlucky buyer of javaprogrammingworld.com that Hemanth Balaji sold. The sale of the web site was completed yesterday, and I did a search after buying the domain and landed on your page. If I had known about the copyright issues, I would have not bought it from him. Now that I have bought the website, I don't know how I should proceed with the web site. Should I remove the links to your content or should I mention your name somewhere on the web site and credit you for the content? At this point, I don't even know what content Mr. Hemanth has stolen from your web site. It would be great if you could send me a detailed email about what content is yours and such. I also would like to treat this e-mail as confidential and not post it anywhere on your online properties such as blogs, web sites or e-mail conversations etc. I am based in the United States and I hope you don't go after me and take any legal actions because I bought the work of Mr. Hemanth and I wasn't the original author. I am interested in resolving this matter and I hope we can come to a mutually beneficial agreement.


8. cyber left...
Friday, 21 April 2006 10:37 am

one cyber has there rides that cyber from bangalore help me bye